bars

Jan-Ole Schiemann

[Translate to Englisch:] Distractingly Sexy, © Jan-Ole Schiemann
[Translate to Englisch:] Distractingly Sexy, © Jan-Ole Schiemann

Schiemann's work oscillates between abstract and figurative elements, comic drawings and constructed surfaces, gray values and paint mist surfaces. As with classic cartoon production, he uses primarily black ink applied to unprimed canvas. Superimposing multiple transparent layers creates an unusual sense of depth. Each additional plotted layer breaks up the original context piece by piece and creates new relationships between the visible background and image foreground. The viewer is encouraged to actively move around the image, in order to comprehend this themselves

 

Born and raised in Kiel, Jan-Ole Schiemann studied Fine Art at Kassel Academy and later graduated under the teachings of Professor Andreas Schulze at Duesseldorf College of Art. Schiemann has become one of the most prominent young artists of his generation with shows in Seoul, New York and Los Angeles. He is represented by the gallery Nino Mier in Los Angeles and Cologne.

How, when and why did the collaboration with Jan-Ole Schiemann come about?

At an exhibition in Cologne, we saw a Jan-Ole piece for the first time. We later visited him in his studio along with an artist friend. He was currently preparing for an Art Basel Miami Beach exhibition curated by Jeffrey Deitsch. I was completely fascinated by his style of painting and the depth of his work. Afterwards, I became more intensely involved with his work, and I resolved to win Jan-Ole and his distinctiveness as the next artist for the creation of a joint edition.

bars

Jan-Ole Schiemann

Distractingly Sexy, © Jan-Ole Schiemann
Distractingly Sexy, © Jan-Ole Schiemann

Schiemanns Arbeiten changieren zwischen abstrakten und figurativen, Elementen, comichaften Zeichnungen und konstruierten Flächen, Grauwerten und  Farbflächen. Wie bei der klassischen Cartoon-Produktion benutzt er hauptsächlich schwarze Tinte die auf nicht grundierte Leinwand aufgetragen wird. Durch das Übereinanderlagern mehrerer transparent wirkender Ebenen entsteht eine ungewöhnliche Tiefe. Jede zusätzlich aufgetragene Ebene löst den ursprünglichen Kontext stückweise auf und schafft neue Beziehungen zwischen scheinbarem Hintergrund und Bildvordergrund. Der Betrachter ist aufgefordert sich im Bild aktiv zu bewegen um dieses individuell zu erfassen.

Schiemann, 1983 in Kiel geboren, studierte bei Albert Oehlen und Andreas Schulze an der Düsseldorfer Kunstakademie. Mit Ausstellungen in Seoul, New York und Los Angeles gehört er zu den aufstrebenden Künstlern seiner Generation. Er wird von der Galerie Nino Mier in Los Angeles und Köln vertreten.

Wie, wann und warum kam die Zusammenarbeit mit Schiemann zustande?

Bei einer Ausstellung in Köln hatten wir zum ersten Mal eine Arbeit von Jan-Ole gesehen. Danach besuchten wir ihn gemeinsam mit einem befreundeten Künstler in seinem Studio. Er war gerade in der Vorbereitung für eine von Jeffrey Deitsch kuratierte, Ausstellung zur Art Basel Miami Beach. Ich war total fasziniert von seiner Art zu malen und von der Tiefe in seinen Bildern. Danach befasste ich mich intensiver mit seinen Werken, und ich wurde in meinem Wunsch bestärkt, dass Jan-Ole mit seiner Unverwechselbarkeit, als nächsten Künstler für die Kreation einer gemeinsamen Edition zu gewinnen.