bars

Edition

Conceptual transfer and the continuation of the artist's idea took the highest priority in the development of the exclusive collection. The starting point for the four-piece unisex line was Schiemann's work 'Distractingly Sexy', translated into German as Verstörend Sexy, from 2017.

The implementation of the edition took place, as before, in close collaboration with the artist. The vision in the development of our editions is always to transport the art to the enthusiast via the textile and show the greatest respect for the work of the artist. We can only succeed if he is willing to let us participate in his world of ideas and willing to be part of the development process.

The second edition of 'Speaking Garments' is produced in a limited edition run of 100 and made in Germany by hand. Each garment is sold with a numbered edition certificate, hand-signed by the artist.

The mesh Jacket

Adopting the artist's layering technique, the cotton fabric of the jacket, the key piece of the collection, was initially given a print depicting the background of the painting. Another layer, which called for the stronger colors, was printed on a mesh material, which was then double-processed with the cotton. When worn, the two fabric layers stitched on top of each other collide with motion. The inside of the zipper jacket is printed with the final result of 'Distractingly Sexy'.

The kangaroo Hoodie

Creative subtleties also testify to the familiar understatement of the Speaking Garments collection. For example, the partial print on the front of the piece is tucked away in the kangaroo flap pocket.

to the shop

The black and white Sweater

The sweater, partially cites the unfinished background of the work. Equally refined: the interior of the sweater also features a 'Distractingly Sexy' print - a luxury completely invisible to the outside world.

The T-Shirt

A T-shirt rounds up the collection, sporting circular cut-outs in the piece - positioned at precise locations on the front and back, where they were removed from the image - and revealing a 'final version' of the painting.

Look

Speaking Garments is all about connecting and working with inspiring and motivating people in our intimate circle of friends. So it was a natural choice to create images with and by people who have a personal connection with both art and the artists we feature. That's why we are very happy to present Anh Chi Trinh and Matthew George McDonald-Bates from the band UMMN as the faces of our project.

bars

Edition

Konzeptioneller Transfer und die Weiterführung des Künstlergedankens haben bei der Entwicklung der Kollektion oberste Priorität. Ausgangsbasis für die vierteilige Unisex-Linie war Schiemanns Werk ‚Distractingly Sexy’ aus dem Jahr 2017.

Die Umsetzung der Edition erfolgte, wie schon bei der ersten Kollaboration, in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Künstler. Die Vision bei der Entwicklung unserer Editionen ist, die Kunst für den Liebhaber auf das Textil zu transportieren und dabei den größten Respekt für die Arbeit des Künstlers zu zeigen. Dies kann uns nur gelingen, wenn dieser bereit ist, uns an seiner Gedankenwelt teilhaben zu lassen und Teil des Entwicklungsprozesses zu sein. Die zweite Edition der ‚Speaking Garments’ wird in einer Auflage von 100 Stück produziert und in Deutschland in Handarbeit gefertigt. Zu jedem Teil gehört ein nummeriertes und vom Künstler signiertes Zertifikat.

Die Netzjacke

Für die Herstellung des Keypieces der Kollektion, einer Jacke aus Baumwollstoff mit Print, wurde die individuelle Schichttechnik des Künstlers aufgegriffen, um dem Print eine ähnlich zeichnerische Ebene wie auf einer Leinwand zu geben. Eine weitere Schicht, die die kräftigeren Farben aufruft, wird auf ein Netzmaterial gedruckt, das anschließend mit der Baumwolle gedoppelt verarbeitet wird. Beim Tragen geraten die zwei übereinander genähten Stoffschichten in Bewegung: Der Layer Effekt aus dem bildnerischen Werk wird so auf das Bekleidungsstück transferiert. Das Innenleben der Zipperjacke ist mit dem finalen Ergebnis von ‚Distracingly Sexy’ bedruckt.

Der Känguru Hoodie

Gestalterische Feinheiten zeugen auch bei dem Hoodie vom Understatement der Speaking-Garments-Kollektion. So verläuft beispielsweise der partielle Print auf der Vorderseite des Styles versteckt in der Känguru-Klappentasche weiter. 

zum Shop

Der schwarz-weiße Sweater

Der Sweater, zitiert partiell die zeichnerische Ebene des Gemäldes. Ebenso raffiniert: Das Innere des Sweaters zeigt ebenfalls den Print ‚Distractingly Sexy’ – ein nach außen unsichtbarer Luxus.

Das T-Shirt

Ein T-Shirt rundet die Linie ab. Hier sind es kreisförmige Ausschnitte aus der Arbeit, die auf dem Vorder- und Rückenteil exakt an den Stellen platziert sind, an denen sie dem Bild entnommen wurden und auch hier ist innen die ‚Endfassung’ des Gemäldes zu sehen.  

Look

Speaking Garments lebt von der Vernetzung und Kooperation mit inspirierenden Menschen aus unserer Community. Auch für diese Kollaboration haben wir selbstverständlich mit Leuten zusammengearbeitet, die sowohl zur Kunst als auch zu unseren Künstlern eine persönliche Verbindung haben. Deshalb freuen wir uns besonders, Anh Chi Trinh  und Matthew George McDonald-Bates von der Band UMMN als Gesichter unseres Projekts vorstellen zu dürfen.